Find JSRs
Submit this Search

Ad Banner

Java Community Process: EC Elections 2020

2020 Executive Committee (EC) Elections

The 2020 Fall Executive Committee (EC) Elections process is now complete. The EC Elections process was launched in June 2000. This election was hosted by Votenet and closed on 16 November 2020 at 11:59 PM Pacific Standard Time.

This year, there were 6 Ratified, 2 Elected and 1 Associate Seats open for election.

Congratulations to the following JCP Members as the newly elected and re-elected EC Members.

Ratified Seats (all serving a two-year term): Alibaba, BellSoft, BNY Mellon, JetBrains, MicroDoc and SAP SE

Elected Seats (all serving a two-year term): London Java Community and Eclipse Foundation

Associate Seats: (serving a two-year term): Ken Fogel

Newly elected EC Members take their seats on Tuesday, 1 December 2020.

Detailed Election Results

Voting Period: 3 - 16 November 2020

Number of Eligible Voters: 1022
Percent of Eligible Voters Casting Votes: 28.08%

Number of Full and Partner Members Eligible to Vote: 422
Percent of Full and Partner Members Casting Votes: 28.67%

Number of Associate Members Eligible to Vote: 600
Percent of Associate Members Casting Votes: 28.00%

Ratified Seats:

CandidateYes votes (%)No votes (%)Abstentions
Alibaba84 (80)21 (20)16
BellSoft85 (88)12 (12)24
BNY Mellon85 (88)12 (12)24
JetBrains116 (99)1 (1)4
MicroDoc75 (85)13 (15)33
SAP SE86 (86)14 (14)21

Elected Seats:

The top two (2) candidates have been elected.

CandidateVotes (%)
London Java Community66 (29)
Eclipse Foundation65 (29)
Azul Systems60 (26)
Chicago Java Users Group27 (12)
TradingScreen Inc.10 (4)

Associate Seats:

The top one (1) candidate has been elected.

CandidateVotes (%)
Ken Fogel58 (35)
Ixchel Ruiz53 (32)
Zoran Sevarac53 (32)

For more information about the candidates who ran for the 2020 Executive Committee Election, please visit the 2020 Executive Committee Elections Nominees page.

8 September - 5 October 2020 Nominations open for Elected and Associate Seats
29 September 2020 Voter eligibility deadline
29 October 2020 Meet the JCP Executive Committee Candidates Zoom Webinar @ 10 AM PDT
3 - 16 November 2020 Ballot open for voting
17 November 2020 Elections results available
1 December 2020 New EC Members take office


Under the JCP 2.11 rules, the EC will be resized.

  • For the 2020 annual elections, two Ratified and one Elected Seats will be eliminated, thereby reducing the EC to 18 members.
After the 2020 annual elections, there will be 11 Ratified Seats, 4 Elected Seats, 2 Associate Seats and the permanent seat held by Oracle America. Members serve 2-year terms that are staggered so that 8 or 9 of the 17 seats are normally up for ratification/election each year.

The EC members guide the evolution of the Java technologies. The EC represents a cross-section of both major stakeholders and other members of the Java Community. Duties are: select JSRs for development, approve draft Specifications for Public Review, approve Final Specifications, review TCK appeals, approve Maintenance revisions and possibly defer some features to a new JSR, approve transfer of maintenance duties between members and provide guidance to the Program Management Office (PMO). For more information on the EC, see the Executive Committee Info page.

2019 EC Elections Results

2018 EC Elections Results

2018 EC Special Elections Results

2017 EC Elections Results

2017 Special EC Elections Results

2016 EC Elections Results

2015 EC Elections Results

2014 EC Elections Results

2013 EC Elections Results

2012 EC Elections Results

2011 EC Elections Results

2010 EC Elections Results

2009 EC Elections Results

2008 EC Elections Results

2007 EC Elections Results

2006 EC Elections Results

2005 EC Elections Results

2004 EC Elections Results

2003 EC Elections Results

2002 EC Elections Results

2001 EC Elections Results

2000 EC Elections Results

For more information on the JCP, see the JCP Overview page.

Contact the PMO for election questions at