Find JSRs
Submit this Search

Ad Banner

Java Community Process: EC Elections 2018

2018 Executive Committee (EC) Elections

The 2018 Fall Executive Committee (EC) Elections process is now complete. The EC Elections process was launched in June 2000. This election was hosted by Votenet and closed on 19 November 2018 at 11:59 PM Pacific Standard Time.

This year, there were 8 Ratified, 3 Elected and 1 Associate Seats open for election.

Congratulations to the following JCP Members as the newly elected and re-elected EC Members.

Ratified Seats (all serving a two-year term): Alibaba, Goldman Sachs, JetBrains, MicroDoc, SAP SE, Software AG, The Bank of New York Mellon and V2COM

Elected Seats (all serving a two-year term): Azul Systems, Eclipse Foundation and London Java Community

Associate Seat (serving a two-year term): Ivar Grimstad

Newly elected EC Members take their seats on Tuesday, 4 December 2018.

Detailed Election Results

Voting Period: 6 - 19 November 2018

Number of Eligible Voters: 955
Percent of Eligible Voters Casting Votes: 39.69%

Number of Full and Partner Members Eligible to Vote: 456
Percent of Full and Partner Members Casting Votes: 35.31%

Number of Associate Members Eligible to Vote: 499
Percent of Associate Members Casting Votes: 43.69%

Ratified Seats:

CandidateYes votes (%)No votes (%)Abstentions
Alibaba120 (87)18 (13)23
Goldman Sachs104 (81)25 (19)32
JetBrains145 (96)6 (4)10
MicroDoc96 (83)19 (17)46
SAP SE105 (82)23 (18)33
Software AG103 (82)22 (18)36
The Bank of New York Mellon92 (77)28 (23)41
V2COM117 (89)15 (11)29

Elected Seats:

The top three (3) candidates have been elected.

CandidateVotes (%)
Eclipse Foundation133 (29)
London Java Community133 (29)
Azul Systems107 (24)
Chicago Java Users Group80 (18)

Associate Seat:

The top one (1) candidate has been elected.

CandidateVotes (%)
Ivar Grimstad121 (56)
Marcus Biel57 (27)
Joseph Aruja21 (10)
Izmir JUG16 (7)

For more information about the candidates who ran for the 2018 Executive Committee Election, please visit the 2018 Executive Committee Elections Nominees page.

25 September - 8 October 2018 Nominations open for Elected and Associate Seats
1 November 2018 Meet the JCP Executive Committee Candidates Teleconference @ 10 AM PDT
1 November 2018 Voter eligibility deadline
6 - 19 November 2018 Ballot open for voting
20 November 2018 Elections results available
4 December 2018 New EC Members take office


Under the JCP 2.10 rules, there are 16 Ratified Seats, 6 Elected Seats, 2 Associate Seats and the permanent seat held by Oracle America. Members serve 2-year terms that are staggered so that 12 of the 24 seats are normally up for ratification/election each year.

The EC members guide the evolution of the Java technologies. The EC represents a cross-section of both major stakeholders and other members of the Java Community. Duties are: select JSRs for development, approve draft Specifications for Public Review, approve Final Specifications, review TCK appeals, approve Maintenance revisions and possibly defer some features to a new JSR, approve transfer of maintenance duties between members and provide guidance to the Program Management Office (PMO). For more information on the EC, see the Executive Committee Info page.

2018 Special EC Elections Results

2017 EC Elections Results

2017 Special EC Elections Results

2016 EC Elections Results

2015 EC Elections Results

2014 EC Elections Results

2013 EC Elections Results

2012 EC Elections Results

2011 EC Elections Results

2010 EC Elections Results

2009 EC Elections Results

2008 EC Elections Results

2007 EC Elections Results

2006 EC Elections Results

2005 EC Elections Results

2004 EC Elections Results

2003 EC Elections Results

2002 EC Elections Results

2001 EC Elections Results

2000 EC Elections Results

For more information on the JCP, see the JCP Overview page.

Contact the PMO for election questions at