Find JSRs
Submit this Search

Ad Banner

Press & Success
News from the PMO

2004 EC Elections Open Letter from JCP Chair

Dear Community members,

I'm pleased to announce to you the 2004 Java Community Process (JCP) Program final elections results.

On November 15 the fifth annual elections for the Executive Committees of the JCP program completed. This year the following seats were up for re-appointment:
- Ratified seats: Apache, Borland and SCO for SE/EE EC, and Insignia, RIM and Sony for ME EC.
- Elected seats: Macromedia, Nokia and Richard Monson-Haefel for SE/EE EC, and Intel and TI for ME EC.

There's one more seat available in this election for the SE/EE EC due to the vacancy of Richard's seat. This has one year left on its term and goes to the third-place vote getter.

During the first stage of the annual elections the members of the JCP program ratify the nominations put forward by Sun. This year for the SE/EE EC the following were nominated: Apache, Borland and Nortel Networks. And for the ME EC: NTT Docomo, RIM and Samsung. Voters ratified all nominees. I congratulate the six companies for their election, and I welcome newly elected members NTT Docomo and Samsung to the ME EC and Nortel Networks to the SE/EE EC.

For the second stage of the elections any member not already represented on an EC can nominate themselves for that EC. In this year's election the SE/EE EC ten candidates nominated themselves for the three available seats: Awais Bajwa, Google, John Harby, Intel, JBoss Group, JetBrains, Novell, Burc Oral, SeeBeyond Technology and Hani Suleiman. The ME EC seven members put their candidatures for two available seats: Aplix, Cox Communications, Intel, Gino Micacchi, Orange France, Enrique Ortiz and Telecom Italia. The JCP membership elected Google, JBoss and Intel to the SE/EE EC, and Intel and Orange France to the ME EC. A warm welcome and congratulations to these Community members.

The elections and the Executive Committees are very important to the success and well-being of the JCP initiative. The Executive Committee members guide the evolution of the Java technology by their voting on all Java Specification Requests (JSRs) by means of the three ballots during the lifecycle of each JSR: accept proposed JSRs for development, approve Public Drafts, approve the final specifications and review the Reference Implementation and Technology Compatibility Kit for each JSR. The Executive Committee members also strongly influence the JCP program and its evolution by the guidance they provide to the Program Management Office.

I thank all JCP members - individuals and companies - who took active part in the elections by voting and self-nominating. I eagerly look forward to working with the new Executive Committees which take office on November 30.

You can find out more about the elections at PriceWaterhouseCoopers' web site at For more information on the Executive Committees, see the info page at

With kind regards,

Onno Kluyt
Sr. Director, Chair of the Java Community Process Program
Sun Microsystems, Inc