Find JSRs
Submit this Search

Ad Banner

JCP EC Minutes: July 11, 2017

Executive Committee Meeting Minutes
for July 11, 2017

Date and Time

July 11, 2017; 8:00 am - 10:00 am




Attendance for 11 July, 2017


  • Heather VanCura
Executive Committee

  • ARM - not present
  • Azul Systems - Simon Ritter, Matt Schuetz - present
  • Credit Suisse - Gary Field - present
  • Eclipse Foundation - not present
  • Fujitsu - Mike DeNicola, Kenji Kazumura - present
  • Gemalto - Thomas Lampart - present
  • Goldman Sachs - Vladimir Zakharov, Jackie Haynes - present
  • Ivar Grimstad - present
  • Hazelcast - Chris Engelbert - present
  • HPE - Naresh Shah - present
  • IBM - not present
  • Intel - Vinay Awasthi - present
  • JetBrains - Anna Kozlova - present
  • Werner Keil - present
  • London Java Community - not present
  • MicroDoc - Hendrik Hoefer - present
  • NXP - not present
  • Oracle - Anish Karmarkar, Calinel Pasteanu - present
  • Red Hat - not present
  • SAP - Volker Simonis - present
  • Software AG - Chris Dennis, Prasad Yendluri - present
  • SouJava - Bruno Souza, Otavio Santana - present
  • Tomitribe - David Blevins, Amelia Eiras - present
  • Twitter - Tony Printezis - present
  • V2COM - Leonardo Lima - present

Total attendance: 19 of 25 voting members

Since 75% of the EC's voting members were present, the EC was quorate for this meeting.


Changes in status as a result of attendance at this meeting

The EC Standing Rules state the following penalties for non-attendance at EC meetings (note that those who participate in face-to-face meetings by phone are officially counted as absent):

  • Missing two meetings in a row results in a loss of voting privileges until two consecutive meetings have been attended.

  • Missing five meetings in a row, or missing two-thirds of the meetings in any consecutive 12-month period results in loss of the EC seat.

There were no changes in voting status as a result of this meeting.

Personnel changes

Steve Wolfe is no longer an alternate for IBM; a new alternate has not yet been named.

EC stats

Heather presented the usual EC stats (see the presentation for details). Heather reminded EC Members to vote and designate an alternate in the case of vacations, etc.

2017 EC Elections

Heather presented dates for the upcoming 2017 EC Elections; see the JCP Election page for details.

2018 Calendar

Heather reported on the 2018 face to face locations and dates (see the presentation for details).

Membership Report

Heather reported on the membership numbers and plans to process renewals of current Full Members, including Individuals and JUGs, in the upcoming months (see the presentation for details).

JavaOne 2017

Heather reviewed plans for JavaOne - more details coming next month (see the presentation for details). Nominations for the JCP Awards will be published later in the week, and the EC voting period will also start later in the week to select the JCP Award winners for 2017.

Java ME Working Group

Heather and Leonardo presented an update on the Java ME Working Group. Summaries are now published on the EC Community page. We will meet again June 19 to discuss future JSR plans.

OpenJDK and the JCP

The summary from the June 5 meeting is published on the EC Community page. There were two action items established as a result of the working group meetings, and we will report on those in the next meeting. The OpenJDK Working Group will meet again at a tbd date, based on Doodle poll result.


Heather reported that the JCP.Next Working Group changed meeting time to Tuesdays at 10 am Pacific Daylight Time. The JCP.Next Working Group will meet again July 25.

Adopt-a-JSR Updates

Heather presented a summary of the Adopt-a-JSR activities by Java User Groups and encouraged EC Members to get involved. Amelia suggested EC Members can help promote the work of the user groups on social media.

Heather asked for any other business and Ivar suggested the topic of future plans for Java EE. Heather agreed to invite a speaker for an upcoming meeting to discuss this topic.

Next Meeting

August 15, 2017, teleconference, 8:00 am - 10:00 am PDT